Book Review: Real by Katy Evans

May 4, 2013 Adult Book Reviews 5

realTitle: Real (Real, Raw, & Ripped #1) [Goodreads][Amazon]
Author: Katy Evans
Publisher: Smashwords
Format: eARC
Pages: 266
Release Date: April 9, 2013
In My Opinion: Don’t even touch it!
One Line: Not even a guy like Remy could save this one for me.

About the Book: A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

You would think that someone who reads as much romance and New Adult as I do would love something like Real. Well, you would think that only if you didn’t know what kinds of romance and New Adult I consider to be good, or even okay. This one, my friends, takes the cake for one of the worse books I’ve read this year. From the annoying beginning to the excrutiating end, I can’t count the eye rolls, raised eyebrows, and WTH moments I experienced while reading this.

Even the smexy scenes didn’t do it for me. At. All. And that’s basically what this book is. (And even that part wasn’t done the way I like.) Real, to me, was a bunch of sexed up words and phrases thrown together with a few fight scenes mixed in between. There was no love, no real connection between the two main characters besides their primal need to boink each other senseless. The sexual tension that the author tried to convey didn’t even cause a blip on my radar. I felt like the author tried too hard to use the “right sexy words” or create the “right intimate moment” that it came off very mediocre and unpolished. There was no real substance or plot to this story, not even the “smexy scenes” could save this for me. There were even moments that I think the author wanted to portray as sexy and intimate, but it just came off as a bit vulgar and weird, in my opinion.

Don’t get me started on Brooke. The inane and senseless thoughts that go on in this girl’s mind is enough to send me over the edge. And here I thought no one but Kiera could be so annoying with that “I wanna slap your dumbass” quality, but Brooke is right up there with her. I swear, I was thisclose to going crazy being in her mixed up head for as long as I was. There is just SO, SO, SO much pointless inner monologue and not nearly enough dialogue, it’s a wonder I managed to finish this book at all. The girl was borderline obsessed with Remy, and I get it, he’s hot, but damn, the thoughts going through this girl’s head seriously made me want to put a restraining order on her for Remy’s sake. And I couldnt’ get over the fact that she knew something wasn’t right with Remy, yet chose to ignore it, focusing on her want for him more than anything else.

Probably the only interaction Brooke and Remy shared that I even remotely liked was when it came to their songs. I like how they shared their playlists with each other and expressed their feeling through those songs, which was sweet and different. I didn’t really even care for Remy that much. Yes, he’s hot and all alpha, with that damaged quality that makes you feel for him, but he was a bit over the top with his “you’re mine” act and I couldn’t get over the fact that the guy basically had a heart attack every time Brooke left his sight like she was a 1 year old who doesn’t know how to take care of herself. I also know it’s hard for him to express himself because of his condition, but would it kill him to answer any of Brooke’s questions with a full sentence instead of a grunt or stare? I didn’t like the fact that I had to wait until the VERY end to finally get see him open up and say everything that was on his mind.

And even if I could overlook the author’s overuse of the words “tummy” (cringe), “clench”, “speedy” (double cringe) and “*ussy”; I just can’t get over the fact that she felt the need to mix in things like “neurotransmitter” or “ATP source”, which served no apparent purpose other than to make the book feel more intelligent, in between phrases like “man stuff” and “scents me”. And I seriously laughed at the fact that this girl is so hard up, everything and anything gets her nipples erect and her panties wet, it’s like she has the mind of a 16 year old boy. I also didn’t like some of the terms the author used to describe Remy’s condition and his episodes. It just bugged me.

I know I’m in the minority with the way that I didn’t like this book, but that’s just how I feel about it. All I know is, if I can’t connect with the characters, the plot is boring, and even the sex scenes don’t cause a stir in me, then that constitutes a bad book, in my opinion. More power to the readers who enjoy Real and I’m sure plenty will find things they love about this book, but this one definitely wasn’t for me.

Never Miss a Post from Me!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We respect your privacy

You Might Also Like:

5 Responses to “Book Review: Real by Katy Evans”

  1. Stormy

    I’m glad I’m not the only one not to like this book. I saw all the AMAZING BOOK reviews on goodreads and thought I was invalid or something. I didn’t–COULDN’T–finish Real. I got a little more than halfway through and had to call it quits. I didn’t like the characters, the writing, or the plot. It was a whole lot of lusting, Brooke thinking about how hot Remy is, begging for sex, and Remy acting weirder than weird. I made it to where they had sex about a dozen times in one hour and I was done. I had to put it down to keep my sanity. I didn’t have a care in the world for what might happen next to Brooke and Remy because I just didn’t feel anything for them but annoyance.

    I like your review and I agree with all you’ve said. 🙂 Spot on.

    • Vivian

      Ikr?! I completely agree w/you. If I didn’t have a compulsive need to finish all the books I read, even tho I don’t like them, I would’ve given up after the 10th “clench”, lol. Such a shame bc it sounded like it would’ve been good. Glad to know I’m not the only one, too. 😀

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge