Book Review: Renegade by Debra Driza

May 23, 2014 Young Adult Book Reviews 0 ★★★½

Book Review: Renegade by Debra DrizaTitle: Renegade by Debra Driza
Series: Mila 2.0 #2
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on May 13, 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Source: Edelweiss
Format: eARC
Pages: 448
Click it: Goodreads | Amazon
three-half-stars

There is no one left for Mila to trust. Except for a boy she barely knows.

But Hunter has no idea who—and what—Mila really is. She can’t bear to reveal her secret, even though he’s unwittingly joined her search for Richard Grady, a man who may know more details of Mila’s complicated past.

Yet the road to the truth is more dangerous than ever. With General Holland and the Vita Obscura scouring the earth for her whereabouts, Mila must rely on her newfound android abilities to protect herself and Hunter from imminent harm. Still, embracing her identity as a machine leads her to question the state of her humanity—as well as Hunter’s real motives.

Perfect for fans of I Am Number Four and Divergent, this action-packed and heart-wrenching second installment of MILA 2.0 will leave readers breathlessly awaiting the series conclusion.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Line: A lot of ups and downs, but definitely an entertaining read.

In My Opinion: Add to cart!

Renegade picks up right where Mila 2.0 left off, and after everything that went down in that first book, I was dying to know what would happen next. I loved that Driza included plenty of stuff from the first book to remind readers of what was going on. Here we have Mila struggling with the death of her mother, looking for answers, and trying to make sense of her feelings for Hunter. There is definitely a lot that goes on in this book and even though there moments where it was a bit dull, Driza threw in plenty of action and intriguing scenes to keep you interested.

Most of the book is Mia on Hunter on the road, trying to find answers regarding who is really out to get her and to uncover the truth about her past and how she came to be. You’re in Mila’s head the whole time so you get see a lot of what she’s thinking and feeling. While she’s battling with the idea of telling Hunter the truth, they get thrown into plenty of twists and turns along the way. Driza definitely leaves you feeling like you don’t know who to really trust. I loved seeing how Mila develops emotionally and mentally through all this, and also, her learning more about her capabilities, which are all pretty cool. The things she can do!

Surprisingly I wasn’t really feeling the romance in this one. Hunter is nice and all, but he did bug me a few times throughout the book, and even though I could believe and appreciate their relationship, it didn’t do anything for me. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed the book and I liked that I did despite the romance doing nothing for me.

The ending was definitely gripping and left me wanting so much more. I can’t believe I have to wait to know what happens next! Anyways, sci-fi fans and those who like a bit of action will get a kick out of this series so far and for those who read the first book, while this wasn’t as engrossing as the first book, it definitely didn’t suffer from “sequel syndrome”, and that’s always a plus in my book.

Never Miss a Post from Me!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We respect your privacy

You Might Also Like:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge