Blog Tour: Book Review & Giveaway – The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey [CLOSED]

May 5, 2015 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Young Adult Book Reviews 6 ★★★★

Blog Tour: Book Review & Giveaway – The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey [CLOSED]Title: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Series: The Girl at Midnight #1
Published by: Delacorte BYR on April 28, 2015
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Young Adult
Source: NetGalley
Format: eARC
Pages: 368
Click it: Goodreads | Amazon
four-stars

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

One Line: Dragons and bird-like creatures walking among us in modern-day society?! How could you not be intrigued?

In My Opinion: Add to cart!

The Girl at Midnight was a very great read all around. There’s a good amount of action, I really liked the world-building and the lore between the two opposing creatures. The characters themselves were pretty entertaining and I found something I liked in each of them. There’s also a nice amount of romance that builds steadily, which made me like the book even more. For a debut novel, Grey did a fantastic job at capturing my attention and maintaining it throughout the book.

As far as female protagonists go, Echo is an excellent one. I loved being in her head. She has wit and snark and she definitely provided much, if not all, of the humor in this book. Her outlook on her life and her world was interesting and I liked how she comfortable she was with herself, especially growing up the way that she did. She has a lot to learn and she can be a bit stubborn and rash at times, but she’s already shaping up to be that kind of character that I love.

Caius was a bit aloof at times. He’s pretty much your typical brooding type, with the added air of arrogance that comes with being both immortal and royalty. But, he is a good leader and I liked that his intentions were pure, he ewent on this mission in hopes of ending this war between the Avicen and the Drakharins so that his people could finally live in peace. As we get to know him and he starts to open up, I really came to like him. I’m a bit hesitant about his relationship with Echo because of the circumstances, but it’s a good romance nonetheless.

This book definitely has potential. It’s hard to really catch my attention nowadays, but Grey managed to grab it and hold on to it, so for that, I give her props. It was the characters that really sold me on this. Not only are Echo and Caius interesting, but the secondary characters are so much fun, especially rigid Dorian and the outspoken Jasper – their dynamic added a lot of lightness which balanced the action and world-building. I’m excited for the rest of the series, for sure.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Never Miss a Post from Me!
Enter your email address and click on the Get Instant Access button.
We respect your privacy

You Might Also Like:

6 Responses to “Blog Tour: Book Review & Giveaway – The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey [CLOSED]”

  1. Karen Blue

    Favorite fantasy? That is a hard question. I really loved the Queen of Hearts series by Colleen Oakes. Chandrea was really good, too. I recently read Undertow and it actually gave me a book hangover. It was so good! Those are just my YA favs.
    Karen Blue recently posted…The Sunday Post #34My Profile

  1. Unbox Me: May Uppercase Box - Vi3tbabe

    […] The Girl at Midnight – $17.99 (retail)/$12.91 (Amazon) – “For fans of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war. Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act. Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.” […]

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge